Husker Football Schedule Announced; Season Slated to Begin Sept 5

LINCOLN – The Big Ten cleared another step on Wednesday toward a possible 2020 football season, announcing a schedule for each of its 14 teams, including our own Huskers.

The conference announced Wednesday that its teams will play a 10-game schedule, with play slated to start on Sept. 5 — the original season start date. Each team will play the first four weeks before byes begin in week four. 

Nebraska will open its season Sept. 5 at Rutgers. 

Here’s Nebraska’s season schedule:

  • Sept. 5: @ Rutgers
  • Sept. 12: Illinois
  • Sept. 19: Wisconsin
  • Sept. 26: @Iowa
  • Oct. 3: Minnesota
  • Oct. 10:@ Ohio State
  • Oct. 17: Bye
  • Oct. 24: @Northwestern
  • Oct. 31: Penn State
  • Nov. 7: Bye
  • Nov. 14: @Purdue
  • Nov. 21: Michigan State
  • Nov. 28: Open
  • Dec. 5: Big Ten Championship Game

The conference will use a variety of health and wellness measures before, during and after play. All Big Ten football athletes will be required to have a COVID-19 test at least once per week, and must receive a negative result before Saturday play. High contact sports like football are required to test twice weekly. Testing for athletes, coaches and staff is required within three days of competition for sports with one game in a week. The Big Ten will coordinate testing through third party testing laboratory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>