All 93 Nebraska Counties Now Under State Level DHM

LINCOLN – Governor Pete Ricketts announced the State’s ninth COVID-19 related Directed Health Measure (DHM) last Friday, which added the remaining counties not already under one.  The DHM will be in effect until May 11, 2020. All of Nebraska’s 93 counties are under a state-level DHM.

Although there is no stay-at-home order for the State of Nebraska, Governor Ricketts said Monday that he spoke directly with Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease that morning.  Ricketts was joined on the call with Iowa’s governor, who also hasn’t issued a stay-at-home order. Ricketts said he reviewed Nebraska’s social distancing rules with Dr. Fauci, who reportedly expressed his appreciation for Nebraska’s efforts. In a later press conference, Dr. Fauci said,”Functionally, even though they have not given the strict stay at home, what they are doing is really functionally equivalent.”

“Now that we have seen community spread across the state, the State is applying directed health measures for all 93 counties until May 11th,” said Ricketts.  “The next several weeks will be key to slowing the spread of the virus in Nebraska.  We are asking Nebraskans to further limit social interactions: work, go home, and [grocery] shop once a week.”

Read the newest DHM by clicking here.

State-Issued DHM Provisions (These points apply statewide): 

  • Police enforceable 10-person limit on public gatherings everywhere in the state.
  • Prohibits medical and dental elective surgeries and procedures; prohibits non-essential veterinary procedures.
  • Requires schools (public, private, and parochial) to operate without students through May 31, 2020.
  • Cancels all school-related extracurricular activities through May 31, 2020.
  • Requires restaurants and bars to close their dining areas and move to takeout, delivery, and/or curbside service only.
  • Requires individuals to home quarantine for at least 14 days if:
    • They have tested positive for COVID-19.
    • They have a fever of 100.4° F or above
    • They have experienced sudden onset of a cough and/or shortness of breath
    • They reside or have resided with individuals who’ve tested positive for COVID-19 or have the above symptoms.
      • NOTE: The quarantine requirement excludes those individuals with seasonal allergies, COPD, or other diagnoses that may produce respiratory symptoms.  Additionally, the directive doesn’t apply to patients who have an alternative non-COVID-19 diagnosis from a healthcare provider.  These patients should follow the treatment and guidance provided by their healthcare provider for such conditions.
    • Some individuals in home quarantine may not experience the onset of symptoms until the latter half of their 14-day quarantine period.  In this case, the length of their quarantine may exceed 14 days.  Individuals should remain in quarantine until 7 days have passed since onset of symptoms, symptoms have improved, and they have been fever-free for at least 72 hours without the use of fever-reducing medication.  
      • NOTE: See the DHM for additional direction on household members living with those in quarantine.


The DHM’s limitation on public gatherings does not apply to:

    • Retail or grocery stores – but people should maintain six feet of distance from one another and stores should facilitate that to the best of their ability
    • Daycares that may be operated at a school per the Governor’s executive order regarding childcare, which you can access by clicking here.
    • Offices, factories, courts, press conferences, hospitals, health centers, distribution/logistics centers and other environments detailed in the full text of the DHM

The City of Fremont has also issued its own Directed Health Measure, which added additional prohibitions and provisions to the state-level DHM, effective last Sunday. (READ MORE) 

Three Rivers Public Health Department (3RPHD) has not received notification of any new lab confirmed cases of COVID-19 since Sunday April 5, 2020. “It remains extremely important for Dodge, Saunders and Washington county residents to maintain social distancing, and plan to stay home as much as possible,” said Terra Uhing, Executive Director for Three Rivers Public Health Department.

As of 5:30PM on Tuesday, April 7th:

  • Dodge County has 7 cases
  • Saunders County has 4 cases
  • Washington County has 20 cases
  • Nebraska has 447 cases total
  • The United States has 386,817 cases

3RPHD reminds everyone to take precautions throughout the community to avoid a COVID-19 infection. You also should consider that many people who are sick have mild symptoms. According to the CDC, four out of five people who have become ill acquired the disease from someone who didn’t know they had it.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>