Sterling, Humboldt represented in second class of Eight-Man Hall of Fame

The 14 players chosen for the second class of the Nebraska Eight-Man Football Hall of Fame include Outland Trophy winner Dean Steinkuhler of Sterling.

Also to be inducted June 16 at halftime of the 41st Sertoma Eight-Man All-Star game at Hastings College are Nolan Beyer of Sidney St. Patrick, Terry Connealy of Hyannis, Brent Gatzemeyer of Bancroft-Rosalie, Scott Gray of Coleridge, Craig Hass of Beemer, LaVane Johnson of Eagle, Ken Mehlin of Humboldt, Lynn Menke of Marquette, Randy Rasmussen of Elba, Jim Scott of Ansley and Dale Van Housen of Polk-Hordville.

Also selected are coach Ron Peck of Beemer and contributors Bobby Mills of Grand Island and Russ Batenhorst of Hastings. The Family Legacy Award will go to Bill Mimick of Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family and sons Jeff and Tom Mimick , who played at Spencer-Naper.

Links hire Kelley-Johnson

Former Lincoln Northeast and Nebraska standout Dominique Kelley-Johnson has been named the new girls basketball coach at Lincoln High.

An All-Nebraska guard, she led Northeast to a state title in 2005. In her final three seasons, the Rockets went 70-3.

At Nebraska, Kelley-Johnson helped the Huskers go 32-2 in 2010 and reach the NCAA tournament Sweet 16. She then spent one season as an assistant at Doane before returning to NU as a graduate assistant for former coach Connie Yori. She later was an assistant at Drake.

Kelley-Johnson will take over for Richard Jackson, who assumed the Links’ coaching duties midway through this past season. Lincoln High finished 16-10 and reached the state tournament for the first time since 2004.