State Wrestling Wrap Up: State Champions, Winning Schools and More

The Nebraska Schools Activities Association State Individual Wrestling Championships wrapped up Saturday at CHI Health Center, Omaha.

In Class A, Millard South took first with 166.5 points.  Columbus and Omaha Burke tied for second with 157.5 points.  Fremont’s Cody Carlson took fifth at 126 pounds.

In Class B, Northwest was first with 96 points.  Omaha Skutt Catholic was second with 91 points.  Blair’s Jackson Nielsen took first at 120 points and Gabe Rand was sixth at 220.  Wahoo’s Jake Sutton was first at 285 pounds.

In Class C, Valentine was first with 165 points.  Broken Bow was second with 129.  Arlington’s Hunter Gilmore was state-runner up and Remington Gay took first at 220 pounds.  North Bend Central’s Zach Borer was first at 170.  Bishop Neumann’s Luke Fairbanks was second at 182 and Tekamah-Herman’s Brandon Schramm was second at 126.

In Class D, Plainview was first with 127 points.  Archbishop Bergan was second with 122.  Bergan had three state champions: Caden Arps at 113, Jacob Johnson at 145 and Peyton Cone at 220.  Zach Hamilton was second at 120 and Ethan Villwok was third at 182.