Kelly Hunter Named Big 10 Setter of the Year

Kelly Hunter Named Big 10 Setter of the Year
Nebraska senior Kelly Hunter is a third-year captain, and the Huskers' first player to be named Big Ten setter of the year. (World-Herald News Service)

Nebraska volleyball senior setter Kelly Hunter was named the Big Ten Setter of the Year on Tuesday, highlighting the Big Ten champion Huskers’ three selections to the All-Big Ten team.

Hunter and junior outside hitter Mikaela Foecke were unanimous selections to the All-Big Ten team, while senior outside hitter Annika Albrecht was also voted to the 19-member team by the league’s head coaches. Lauren Stivrins and Jazz Sweet were named to the All-Big Ten Freshman team. Senior middle blocker Briana Holman received All-Big Ten honorable mention for the second time in her Husker career, and Sydney Townsend received her second career Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Nebraska head coach John Cook was voted the Big Ten Coach of the Year by the coaches for the second straight year, marking his seventh career conference coach-of-the-year honor. Cook guided the Huskers to a second straight league title with seven freshmen on the roster and while having to replace three AVCA All-Americans from last year’s Big Ten champion and final four team.