Frost Named Finalist for Coach of the Year Award

Frost Named Finalist for Coach of the Year Award
Scott Frost led Central Florida to an undefeated season in his second year as head coach. (World-Herald News Service)

Nebraska Head Coach Scott Frost has been named one of eight finalists for the 2017 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. Frost was honored for his work this season at UCF, where he guided the Knights to the only undefeated season in the FBS ranks, just two seasons after inheriting a winless team.

In addition to Frost the group of finalists also includes Bill Clark (UAB), Lane Kiffin (Florida Atlantic), Jeff Monken (Army), Lincoln Riley (Oklahoma), Kirby Smart (Georgia), Dabo Swinney (Clemson) and Jeff Tedford (Fresno State).

Frost was also honored on Tuesday as one of five American Football Coaches Association Regional Coach of the Year winners. Frost was the Region 1 AFCA Coach of the Year, joining other FBS division winners in Smart (Region 2), Paul Chyst, Wisconsin (Region 3), Matt Campbell, Iowa State (Region 4) and Tedford (Region 5). The AFCA will announce the 2017 National Coaches of the Year on Tuesday, Jan. 9.