The Season’s First Tornado Threat is Here

FREMONT – Severe thunderstorms with the potential to produce two inch size hail and possibly even tornadoes will be developing in our area over the next few hours. Be prepared to take cover from these storms. Expect widespread strong to severe thunderstorm development. This will be initially focused in the orange shaded area with storms spreading east through the evening hours. A tornado watch is in effect. Be prepared to seek shelter in case a warning is issued.

Click here for the latest watch and warning information from Keep your radio handy and listen to Big Dog 98.9 or 1340 and The Best Mix 105.5 for up to the minute, ongoing coverage of the storms. Download our apps from the Google Play store or iPhone App Store.

Severe Thunderstorm Watch & Warning

At 436 PM CDT, a severe thunderstorm was located 4 miles northwest of David City, or 13 miles southeast of Columbus, moving northeast at 30 mph. This is a very dangerous storm, according to the National Weather Service. This storm is producing tennis ball to baseball size hail, and another storm outside of North Bend is currently producing the same.

A severe thunderstorm warning remains in effect until 530 pm cdt

For southwestern burt…southeastern cuming and northwestern dodge Counties… At 443 PM CDT, a severe thunderstorm was located near Snyder, or 37miles northeast of Columbus, moving northeast at 25 mph. HAZARD…60 mph wind gusts and half dollar size hail. SOURCE…Radar indicated. IMPACT…Hail damage to vehicles is expected. Expect wind damage to         roofs, siding, and trees. Locations impacted include…West Point, Scribner, Dodge, Snyder, Uehling, Craig, Oakland and DeadTimber State Recreation Area. This includes the following highways… Highway 275 in Nebraska between mile markers 120 and 135. Highway 77 in Nebraska between mile markers 132 and 145.

Tornado Watch until 10PM

The National Weather Service has issued a Tornado Watch through 10PM tonight for an area spanning from Southwest Iowa (Harrison, Pottawattamie, Shelby and Monona counties)pver a huge area of Nebraska. Twenty counties are included in the watch are:

Burt, Butler, Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy, Saunders, Washington, Colfax, Cuming, Platte, Thurston, Cass, Gage, Jefferson, Johnson, Lancaster, Otoe, Pawnee, Saline, Seward

The watch area will effect the cities of:

Ashland, Beatrice, Bellevue, Blair, Columbus, Council Bluffs, Crete, David City, Decatur, Dunlap, Fairbury, Fremont, Harlan, La Vista, Lincoln, Logan, Lyons, Macy, Mapleton, Milford, Missouri Valley, Nebraska City, Oakland, Omaha, Onawa, Papillion, Pawnee City, Pender, Plattsmouth, Schuyler, Seward, Sterling, Table Rock, Tecumseh, Tekamah, Wahoo, Walthill, West Point, Wilber, Winnebago, Wisner, Woodbine, And Yutan.