FEMA Extends Nebraska Individual Assistance Deadline to June 19

LINCOLN, Neb. – FEMA announced today that they will extend the deadline to register and apply for individual assistance for those affected by the March floods. Homeowners, renters and business owners in Nebraska counties designated for federal assistance now have until June 19 to register for federal assistance.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) disaster grants for qualified homeowners and
renters may help pay for basic repairs to make a home habitable, provide temporary rental assistance, and provide assistance for serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other sources.

To register with FEMA:

• Online, visit DisasterAssistance.gov
• By phone, call FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585 (TTY).
• On a smart phone, download the FEMA app and click on “disaster resources,” then “apply for
assistance online.”

Applicants will need the following to apply:
• Social Security Number;
• Daytime telephone number;
• Current mailing address;
• Address and zip code of the damaged property;
• Proof of ownership and occupancy, such as a utility bill; and
• Private insurance information, if available.

After registering for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA),
homeowners and renters may also be contacted by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to apply for a low-interest disaster loan. SBA disaster loans provide the largest source of long-term federal disaster recovery funds for survivors.