Annual Sportscaster’s Club Scholarships Announced

FREMONT – Each year, the Walnut Radio Sportscasters Club helps bring hundreds of local high school sporting events to the airwaves, and provides $1,000 scholarships to six deserving local athletes.

Athletic directors and principals at Archbishop Bergan Catholic High School, Fremont High School and Midland University each review their rosters and nominate those student-athletes who have excelled throughout their high school career – athletically, academically, and personally.

This year’s nominees were:

Bergan (Boys)

  • Dre Vance
  • Jacob Johnson
  • Grant Frickenstein

Bergan (Girls)

  • Lexie Langley
  • Alison Dieckmann
  • Haley Kempf

Fremont High School (Boys)

  • Austin Callahan
  • Dillon Dix
  • Wes Ferguson

Fremont High School (Girls)

  • Lauren Gifford
  • Kennedy Jones
  • Avery Decker

Midland University (Men)

  • Dylan Kucera (Track)
  • CJ Martinez (Track/XC)
  • Theo Blum (Football)

Midland University (Women)

  • Amanda Hansen (Basketball)
  • Brooke Fredrickson (Volleyball)
  • Sierra Athow (Softball)

By popular vote, this year’s winners are:

  • Bergan Boys – Dre Vance
  • Bergan Girls – Alison Dieckmann
  • Fremont High Boys – Wes Ferguson
  • Fremont High Girls – Lauren Gifford
  • Midland U Men – CJ Martinez
  • Midland U Women – Brooke Fredrickson

Scholarship winners or their parents should contact Mix 105.5 / Big Dog 98.9-1340 by calling (402) 721-1340 with the college of their fall 2019 enrollment – scholarship funds will be paid directly to the college’s bursar office, so please have any necessary information like student ID or account numbers when calling.