Nebraska baseball’s Scott Schreiber, Jesse Wilkening make All-Big Ten second team

Nebraska baseball’s Scott Schreiber, Jesse Wilkening make All-Big Ten second team
Scott Schreiber ranked second in the Big Ten this season with 18 home runs. (World-Herald News Service)

Nebraska landed a pair of honorees on the All-Big Ten second team and had five players recognized overall as part of the league baseball awards released Tuesday morning.

Scott Schreiber — in contention for Big Ten Player of the Year until the final weekend — and Jesse Wilkening were both named to the second team after pacing Nebraska’s offense this spring. All-Freshman nods went to catcher Gunner Hellstrom and outfielder Jaxon Hallmark, while the school’s Sportsmanship Award winner was sophomore outfielder Mojo Hagge.

Big Ten champion Minnesota claimed three of the four major awards: Pitcher of the Year (Patrick Fredrickson), Freshman of the Year (Fredrickson) and Coach of the Year (John Anderson). Illinois first baseman Bren Spillane earned Player of the Year.

Nebraska, which missed the postseason for the first time as a Big Ten member, also had its lowest number of all-conference selections. It had four last year following its regular-season title, and its highest was seven in 2012.

Schreiber was a first-team member the last two seasons and had a strong case to make it a three-peat. The Wisconsin native was top seven among Big Ten hitters in slugging percentage (.692), on-base percentage (.446), runs scored (62), hits (79), RBIs (48), home runs (18) and total bases (148).

Wilkening, a junior, led NU in RBIs (56) and batting average (.372) while splitting time between catcher and designated hitter. This marks his first All-Big Ten honor.

Iowa secured three All-Big Ten first-team spots: catcher Tyler Cropley, outfielder Robert Neustrom and starting pitcher Nick Allgeyer. DH Chris Whelan landed on the third team.​

Click here to see the complete list of All-Big Ten baseball teams.