Australia’s Isabelle Bourne commits to Nebraska women’s basketball team

One of the best youth players in Australia on Sunday became the second commit for the Nebraska women’s 2019 recruiting class.

Isabelle Bourne, a 6-foot-2 forward who attends the Australian Institute of Sport, picked the Huskers according to an international women’s basketball scout on Twitter. The World-Herald independently confirmed the commit.

Bourne was part of Australia’s under-17 team that won gold in the Oceania championship in Guam. She averaged 19 points, 9.8 rebounds and 2.6 assists. At the 2017 FIBA Under-18 Asia Cup 3×3 tournament in Mongolia, Bourne was MVP as her team won the gold medal.

Bourne is the second Husker commit for the 2019 class. East Haven, Connecticut, point guard Makenzie Helms was the first.

Nebraska women’s basketball to face Final Four participant Louisville in ACC/Big Ten Challenge

The Nebraska and Iowa women’s basketball teams are getting the two toughest draws in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge.

The Huskers will play at 2018 Final Four participant Louisville, which returns four of five starters. The Hawkeyes draw a road game at defending national champion Notre Dame. Both games are Nov. 29 and may draw national television interest.

Nebraska and Louisville have some shared history: Cardinals coach Jeff Walz was an NU assistant in 1998 when Husker coach Amy Williams finished her Nebraska career. Walz has guided Louisville to three Final Fours.

NU returns its five leading scorers from last season and adds a recruiting class ranked in the nation’s top 20 by ESPN.

As for Iowa, Big Ten player of the year Megan Gustafson returns, as does much of its backcourt.

Both the Huskers and Hawkeyes qualified for the NCAA tournament in 2018 and lost their first-round games.

You can see the full ACC/Big Ten Challenge schedule below:

Wednesday, Nov. 28

Illinois at Clemson

Indiana at Wake Forest

Virginia at Michigan State

Rutgers at Virginia Tech

Duke at Wisconsin

Thursday, Nov. 29

Iowa at Notre Dame

Georgia Tech at Maryland

Michigan at NC State

Syracuse at Minnesota

Nebraska at Louisville

Pittsburgh at Northwestern

North Carolina at Ohio State

Penn State at Florida State

Miami at Purdue